The Egg and I


Eggs are an important breakfast and dessert item in many households across the globe. Many of close friends join this list, loving and eating eggs in the form of omelettes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, poached eggs, spicy Egg curry, egg sandwich and so on. Though it’s easy to cook, pack and eat, my encounter with this tiny ingredient was a nightmare.

Months back, I watched a season of the Masterchef Australia (my favourite cooking show ever) and Taste UK on T.V. There were many contestants and among them were three or four Indians. I was surprised. I mean an Indian cooking on an International TV show didn’t make sense to me. We Indians love spices, a restricted list of meats and a whole lot of vegetables. Though our country is so huge with many states, each differing in language, people, culture and mainly food, the cooking is so different – tangy, sweet or spicy. The levels vary but you can expect to get these tastes at an Indian home. Looking at the other contestants, I didn’t think these guys would make it as a winner since they had no experience with a different cuisine (except for a few basics). Nevertheless, I was keen to see their growth.

My takeaway from these shows was experimentation. So I thought I am going to start with making an omelet or a spicy egg curry. I started with buying a carton of 60 eggs (just to make sure I have enough) and watching a zillion videos online. I knew the other necessities for an omelette – onions, tomatoes, green chilly, peppercorn and salt. I was excited and employed my four senses to test. The cooking was easy and the result appeared good for a newbie. I called my husband and he was happy to see my effort. Like the contestants waiting for the verdict, I kept staring at him, watching him swallow the first bite. He looked at me and said ‘I am proud of you. You tried something out of your comfort zone but please don’t do this again’.

(In case you are wondering, I am a vegetarian. And after successfully experimenting with a hundred eggs, I can now make an edible and tasty omelet without tasting it)

4 thoughts on “The Egg and I

Leave a Reply

